Home Forums ASROL : Rolling Window and by-Group Descriptive Statistics Converting daily returns to weekly returns in Stata

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Dear Shah,

I’m a student and looking for help about converting daily returns to weekly returns in Stata. In fact, I read some of your posts and tried to use ascol without success.
    the code for raw_return is :

g raw_return = log(price[_n]/price[_n-1])

Could you please tell me which code I need to use?

Thank you very much in advance for your help,

Have a wonderful day,

Nathan

Attaullah Shah
    Keymaster

Hello Nathan
    To convert daily returns to weekly, you can either use asrol or ascol. Both of them employ similar methods, though ascol is specifically designed for this task. The help file of ascol provides several examples in this regard. You might also find this blog entry helpful. In the following paragraph, I show one additional example using data from my site.

* Install ascol from SSC
    ssc install ascol
    * Generate log returns bys symbol : gen daily_return = ln(close / close[_n-1]) * Create weekly date gen week_date = wofd(date) format week_date %tw * Convert the daily returns to weekly ascol daily_return , returns(log) keep(all) toweek gen(weekly_return) timevar(date) panelvar(symbol)

Explanation

returns(log) : Tells ascol that the returns were initially generated using log method. This is important because ascol then applies the simple summation method to convert the returns from daily to weekly frequency.